Machaca Burritos

Image

Hello guys!
I can’t believe it’s already October.. talk about how time flies.
I turned 19 this past september. Which it’s kind of surreal, when someone asks me how old I am I always rethink my answer
I always want to say that i’m 17 I think i’m stuck in that age, but oh well haha.
Today I want to introduce to you this amazing “Burritos de Machaca” dish, okay, so I know you might be wondering:
¿What’s machaca?
Machaca is a dish prepared originally most commonly from dried, spiced beef or pork, then rehydrated and pounded to make it tender. The reconstituted meat would then be used to prepare any number of dishes.”

I remember when I was little and we used to go on roadtrips my Mom would prepare this Burritos which had machaca and potatoes and they were so good. Until this day I still love them and find them comforting.
Where I live they sell this meat everywhere but I know that in some parts of Mexico you can’t find it, I have some family that don’t live here and when they come they always take some with them. It’s one of those dishes you grow up with.
I didn’t know if I should blog about this cause I know some of you may not find this exact meat but If you can’t find anything like this where you live you can use regular meat. Burritos are amazing and easy to make, I just love them :)
So here is the recipe:
Ingredients:
Flour tortillas
1/4 kilo machaca (meat)
2 large potatoes (cutted in cubes)
1/4 of an Onion
1 Tomato
1 Serrano chile (this depends how spicy you’d like it)
250 grams of tomatoe puree (or a little bit more)
Pepper

Preparation:
Cut the potatoes in little cubes and fry them with a little bit of pepper, add the onion,tomato, serrano chile and half of the tomato puree, then add the machaca and add the other half of the tomato puree so it’s juicy.
Image
Grab a tortilla and add a little bit of the mixture and fold them like this:

Image

Then in a “Comal” place the burritos and let the tortilla toast a little bit on each side and then serve :)

Image

Note: As you can see we didn’t use any additional salt cause this type of meat it’s salty enough.

Image

This is how the Machaca meat looks:

Image

I know it looks so weird but I can assure you it is delicious! :)

I also wanted to let you guys know i’m on twitter: http://www.twitter.com/maggiecooks so if you guys haven’t followed me you I’d love if you did I really enjoy interacting with you :)
I hope you guys have a wonderful week!

- Maggie.

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on October 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.easyrecipes.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to Easy Recipes will too.
    By joining Easy Recipes, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it. Simply visit http://www.easyrecipes.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

