Cookies & Cream Cake


I made this cake for my sister's 23rd birthday.

I had a lot of cakes I wanted to bake, I gave her a list and,
she said: "I want the cookies and cream cake".
I said: "Okay then that's the one!".

I then was on a hunt to find the perfect one, the pretty one, you know .. 
the One!
I knew it had to taste great and look pretty, 
her friends were coming over, 
my family was gonna see it! I had a lot of pressure! 

My Mom and I went to the supermarket to get all the ingredients and 
then it was my favorite time....

BAKING TIME 

I love chocolate cake, I love chocolate frosting, 
you know I love chocolate. I mean who doesn't? 
(If you don't, then I don't know what's wrong with you)

I'm a big fan of Annie's eats Blog, 
Her recipes and pictures are amazing and inspiring!

 
To find the Original and from scratch recipe go here:
Annie's Eats Cookies and Cream Cake

To assemble the cake, place one cake layer on a cardboard cake circle.  
Pipe a ring of the chocolate frosting around the outside edge of the 
cake.  
Fill the area inside the ring of frosting with a thick layer of the 
cookies and cream mixture.  Place the second cake layer on top.  
Frost the sides of the cake layers with chocolate frosting.  
Pipe a decorative border of the chocolate frosting on top of the cake.  
Fill the area inside this border with a thick layer of the cookies and
cream mixture.  
Garnish with extra chocolate sandwich cookies and whipped cream if 
desired.

Note: I baked the cake from a box 
-German Chocolate Cake to be exact- 
I made Chocolate Buttercream frosting using my own recipe:

- 1 Cup ( 2 sticks ) of Butter - Softened -
- 3/4 Cup Cocoa powder
- 1 Teaspoon vanilla extract
- 3 Cups Confectioners Sugar
- 1 - 2 Teaspoons Milk - if desired -

Directions:
In a mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat butter at medium-high 
speed until smooth, about 20 seconds.  
Add confectioners’ sugar, beat at medium-low speed until most of the 
sugar is moistened, about 45 seconds.  
Scrape down the bowl and beat at medium speed 
until mixture is fully combined, about 15 seconds.  
Scrape bowl, add vanilla and heavy cream, and beat at medium speed 
until incorporated, about 10 seconds. 
Then increase the speed to medium-high and beat until light and fluffy, 
about 4 minutes, scraping down bowl once or twice.

Source: Annie’s Eats

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This looks amazing! Yum! I buzzed ya 🙂

  1. Pingback: Happy Fathers Day! « Maggie Cooks

Leave a Reply

