Cinammon Cookies

Or as we call them: Bizcochos.

These little cookies will never fail you!

My Mom’s Aunt Lucy, used to make them for weddings and other special occasions, she used to make snowball cookies, or mexican wedding cookies as some of you may call them, she is amazing at cooking and baking, her food is very simple but delicious.

BUT these cookies, oh these cookies are AWESOME they literally melt in your mouth.

You can’t have too many! and our family loves them!

It is a secret recipe, not anyone knows it, but thankfully she gave the recipe to my Mom and know we make them together!

Since it’s Sunday, Baking and Eating it’s a MUST to start these week with a smile on our faces I decided to share this recipe with you! 🙂

I really hope you like them!

Yields about 300 cookies. don’t be scared for the enormous quantity of cookies believe me, they wont last the first week.

For the Dough you will need:

8 1/2 Cups of All-Purpose Flour

2 Cups shortening

1 Cup Sugar

2 Eggs

1/2 Teaspoon baking powder

1 Teaspoon vanilla

1/4 Teaspoon salt

1/2 Teaspoon cinnamon

For the Cinnamon & Sugar:

1 cup Sugar

3 Teaspoons Cinnamon
Note: You can alternate this “Cinnamon & Sugar” recipe depending on your likes for cinnamon.

Method:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream the Shortening and Sugar together for about 2 to 3 minutes.

Add eggs,baking powder,vanilla, cinnamon and salt until everything is well incorporated.

Add the flour slowly untill well combined.

Shape into 1-inch balls and bake 8-10 minutes. Do not brown. Cool, then roll in the Cinnamon and sugar mixture.

Note: They dough will be dry, so when you try to make the little balls to form the cookie sometimes it will be too dry that you are going to think that you did something wrong, but don’t worry you’ll be able to form the cookie, my Mom and I freaked out the first time we baked them too and everything turned great!

Source: My Dear Aunt Lucy.

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on June 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It looks so tasty. Can’t bealive you only 16. In your age I could hardly cook an egg 🙂

  2. These look so buttery I think I would have trouble stopping myself from eating at least a dozen. I think they would go wonderfully with my nightly coffee. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  3. you are really talanted…these look amazing!

  4. How do you shape them into 1 inch balls. Mine keep braking

Leave a Reply

