Cold Tuna Cake

Cold Tuna Cake or as we call it “Pastel de Atun Frio”

No, this isn’t a sweet cake or a baked cake.
I wanted to bring you another simple but delicious meal that we make a lot here in Mexico and like always I hope you guys like it 🙂

I remember sitting down looking at my mom making this tuna cake since I was 7 or 8, I’d sit and stare at her making it.
It stills amazes me how easy cooking can be.

When you’re a kid if the food tastes good you’ll want more every week, but if you don’t like it you never want to see it again!

I think that’s why food is so important, but that doesn’t mean you have to be all day cooking and finish exhausted for a great food, this cake is a proof of it!
that’s why I wanted to share this recipe with you!

Ingredients:
2 loaves of bread
I used this type:

4 cans of tuna
1 can of whole red and peeled peppers
1/2 to 1 cup of sour cream (depending on your likes for sour cream)
1/4 of american cheese
3 tablespoons of mayo
1 tablespoon regular mustard
1 teaspoon of jalapeno juice

Preparation:
1. chop the edges of the bread

2. On a blender add: tuna, whole red and peeled peppers, sour cream, american cheese, mayo, mustard, jalapeño juice and blend.
3. in a Pyrex place one layer of bread, and then a layer of the mix, after that, add another layer of bread on top of that and so on until you have your Pyrex full. (if you have left overs you can make a little one in another Pyrex)

4. cover with film paper. And place it in the fridge until its served.

You can make this early in the morning and put it in the fridge for it to taste better once it’s served later in the day 🙂

Source: My Mom

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on June 10, 2011, in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

