How to make Jamaica


Yay! I’m excited to bring my first “how to” into my blog.
Jamaica is such a delicious and refreshing drink!
And every time I drink it, it brings back so many memories.
My mom makes it all the time on the summer season, And when she makes it the whole house smells so good.
The best thing is that it’s so easy :).

Heres How My mom and I make it:

Ingredients:
1 Cup dried Jamaica flowers
3 litres or 12-13 Cups of water.
1 – 2 Cups of sugar. ( depends on how sweet you like it )
Ice cubes ( lots ) for this hot afternoons

Preparation:
In a stainless saucepan place the cup of dried Jamaica flowers with just one cup of water.
Bring to boil. Turn off the heat and let it rest for about 30 to 1 hour.

Meanwhile in a Pitcher Place the 11-12 cups of cold water and start with 1/2 cup of sugar and stir.
Now that the dried Jamaica flowers have rested, Pour the infusion through a strainer into the pitcher.

Taste it and if you feel you need more sugar add the other half cup. You really need to taste it and if the Jamaica tastes too strong you can add more water.

But believe me at the end it will be worth it. 🙂

Source: My Mom.

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Drinks, How To. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. That’s cool! What do the flowers taste like? They give the water the color of a berry. Beautiful pictures!

    • Thank you :)! It tastes like cranberry juice. It has that bittersweet taste but it’s really good. It’s also recommended for the people that suffer from high blood pressure.

  2. This looks great Maggie! Where would I find it when travelling, as I’d love to taste it? I won’t be able to find Jamaican flowers in Australia 😦 Thanks!

  3. Hi Maggie…you are only 16 and you cook well 🙂 Your mom must be proud of you. Well done..this hibiscus flowers drink must taste good !

  4. Wow, what a gorgeous drink! It looks so yummy, refreshing and perfect for sipping during the new summer season. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  5. I actually have a packet mix of this drink in my pantry to try but I’d much rather try the real thing. I love cranberry juice so I think this is something that I would really enjoy. I did some research and Amazon sells the dried hibiscus flowers, so I should be able to order some, becasue I doubt I would find them here.

  6. My mother always gets hibiscus tea at Starbucks and I never tried it. I like cranberry juice so I should like this-interesting fact about it being good for high blood pressure. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I’ve never seen Jamaica flowers, let alone a drink made out of them. I am pretty sure I’d have no idea where to find them, but the drink looks delicious and refreshiing!

  8. Never heard of those flowers but the they look beautiful. And the drink aswell 🙂

Leave a Reply

