Nopales

 or Nopalitos

Nopales are my Mom and Dad’s favorite! They love them, on Sunday we went to Costco and my Mom found this bag of Nopales and bought them.
They are really traditional from here, and easy to make! You can have them as a Main dish with some warm Corn tortillas or as a breakfast with Scrambled eggs! You need to try them and I’m sure they’ll be your favorite too!

Ingredients:
1.5 kg Nopales
1/2 Onion
2 garlic cloves
1 Tomato Chopped
2 Tablespoons Onion finely chopped
1 Garlic clove
2 Tablespoons Red and Orange Pepper
Pepper
Salt
1/2 Tablespoon Chicken soup powder
420g Tomato puree

Preparation:

On a Saucepan place the Nopales with the 1/2 Onion and 2 garlic cloves, you need to cover them with water for 30 minutes. We do this to take some of the slime out of the Nopales.

Now you need to drain them, taking the onion and garlic cloves away.

While they cool a little bit You can start to chop the tomato,onion,garlic,red and orange pepper.

On another Saucepan you need to fry the Nopales with all of the chopped things and add pepper, salt, 1/2 tablespoon of chicken soup and the 420g of tomato puree.

And there you go, now your ready to eat them 🙂

Source: My Mom

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have never had Nopales before. In Sicily, they eat the prickly pear fruit – but not the actual cactus…. very creative and different!

  2. I have never heard of them, either! What do they taste like?

  3. I’ve seen these in a can at my grocery store. Fresh ones have to be so much better. Yours look very tasty. I’m saving this recipe and hopefully I can find fresh ones.

  1. Pingback: Happy Independence Day « Maggie Cooks

  2. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Recipes « Maggie Cooks

Leave a Reply

