Lentejas

or Lentil Soup

This soup it’s one of my favorites soup of all time, maybe you can find the Canned ones on your supermarket and those are good but nothing compared to this version, very homey and just delicious!
My mom is making this dish constantly because my baby nephew loves this too! he is 11 months old! 🙂
I really recommend you giving this a try!
Now with the braces I had this for lunch on friday and saturday. But now I can eat better! I’m getting used to them and eating more solid things, but I still tell my Mom I want to have soup! haha
I hope it becomes a favorite in your house like it is in ours!

Ingredients:
2 Cups of lentils
1 liters of water
2 garlic cloves
half onion
3 pieces of bacon (or more if you’re a bacon fan)
1 teaspoon salt
2 carrots
1/2 or 1 celery stick
1 big potato
1 teaspoon of chicken soup powder
1 210g tomato puree

Preparation:
On a saucepan place the water, lentils, garlic cloves, bacon, onion and salt on a medium heat for about 1 hour.

Cut the Carrots,celery and potato on cubes.

Now add the chicken soup powder, the carrots,celery,potato and the tomato puree and wait until the vegetables are cooked. for about 20-25 minutes.

And there you go, now you have a Lentil soup ready to enjoy!!!!!!

Source: My Mom

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Yum! I love lentils in anything!

  2. what a good looking soup! I finally got my girls eating lentils, now if I could just get my wife eating them!

  3. Looks wonderful. I love a good soup.

  4. What a great looking soup. (I really love to eat soup all year round!) : )

  5. My husband loves soup and I have bookmarked this one. I have never seen lentil soup-sounds tasty. Well done.

  6. This soup looks so lovely, Maggie! I can’t wait to give it a try. Thank you so much to you and your mom for such a wonderful recipe!!

  7. Love soup. Great recipe

  8. I’ve never had this, but if it’s one of your favorites than maybe I should give it a try!

Leave a Reply

