Sopa de Albondigas

Meatball Soup

We’ve been having a lot of soup lately, other than being one of the things I can eat without hurting my teeth, this Sopa de albondigas it’s the soup I remember having since a long time ago, I would always wonder how my mom would introduce the rice on the meatballs, well the day we made this I paid attention and now I know haha, when your little you think everything is so hard to make, but now i’m amazed at how easy cooking can be, sometimes we just sit on the table waiting to have something to eat, but when you see the whole process of the meal your going to eat it’s amazing, I mean I find it wonderful!
I became from being a picky palate girl, to challenging myself to try new things and I must admit I’ve liked most of the things I’ve been introduced to :).
And can’t wait to try more food, it just tastes so good! haha 🙂

Now I would like to introduce you to this Sopa de albondigas!

Ingredients
For the Soup:
3 liters water
2 tablespoons chicken soup powder
1 210g tomato puree
2 zucchini diced
2 carrots diced
2 celery sticks diced

For the Meatballs:
1 kilo of meat
1 egg
1 tomato
half onion
2 garlic cloves
1 teaspoon ground oregano
Pepper
Salt
2 tablespoons rice
1/2 cup bread crumbs (we ran out of bread crumbs so we used 2 slices of loaf breads with some milk)
Handful of coriander

Preparation:
On a Soup Pot place the 3 liters of water with the chicken soup powder and tomato puree on a medium-low heat.
To make the meatballs first on a blender mix: tomato,onion,coriander and garlic, mix until smooth.

On a Bowl add the meat,egg,bread crumbs,rice,oregano,pepper,salt and add the mixture we blended.

Mix it until forming little meatballs.

Add the Carrots,Zucchini,celery and Add the meatballs to the soup on a medium heat for 30-45 minutes or until you see the rice is cooked.

Source: My Mom

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Main Dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I am SO excited about this, I immediately saved and buzzed. I haven’t had albondigas soup since I loved in the southwest, and I am psyched to see a recipe for it!

  2. Wow – this looks incredible! I love soups…and this one looks incredible!

  3. This looks really delicious Maggie! I love the tiny meatballs, they look so cute. I know, who says that about meatballs? I can’t wait to try it!

  4. Maggie, this soup looks healthy and delicious. I particularly enjoy the seasoning choices. Bravo!

  5. Thanks for ther introduction Maggie, this is a great recipe. You’re so lucky to have such a great culinary experience at your fingertips.

  6. Yum! One question Maggie…is the rice precooked, instant rice, or regular uncooked rice? Can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

