Chicken enchiladas

or Enchiladas de pollo

I’ve been anxiously waiting to post this recipe for a week now, I love chicken enchiladas, I mean who doesn’t? they are sooooooo good.
Today the classes officially start here in Mexico, And I remember my Mom would always take a picture of our first day back to school and I would feel embarrassed about it, but that’s what Moms do right? haha, I remember when I got back to school my Mom would receive us with a big plate of enchiladas, I don’t know why but I remember eating them every year at least twice a month, I feel here in Mexico we are used to having spicy things, and we grow up enjoying them, this dish is really tasty and sometimes we just can’t have enough flutes!

The fried corn tortilla gives a crunchiness that’s just too good to explain.

I really hope you guys enjoy them as much as we do here!

Ingredients:
500 Grams dried chile Colorado
1 Chicken breast
20 Corn tortillas
1 Tomato finely chopped
1/2 Onion finely chopped
Lettuce
Cheese of your choice
Sour cream
1 Teaspoon chicken soup powder
1 – 2 Teaspoon Sugar

Preparation:
Hydrate the chile Colorado with water on a saucepan for 30 minutes on a medium heat.
on another clean saucepan place the tomato and onion finely chopped with the chicken breast previously cooked and shredded cook for about 5 minutes and set aside.
On a blender Mix the chile Colorado with the water until its well combined.
On a saucepan place 3 tablespoons of oil and 2 tablespoons of flour and strain the blended mix of chile.
Add the teaspoon of chicken soup powder and taste it if you feel it is very spicy add some sugar a teaspoon at a time.
Let it boil and then set aside.

Grab some corn tortillas and make some flutes.

fry them with some oil and dip them into the chile Colorado mix.

Grab a plate add some Lettuce, Tomato,the flutes and some cheese and cream.

And there you go a super delicious enchiladas ready to be eaten! Yummy! now I want some! haha.

I shared my “back to school” memory .. but I would love to know What is your back to school memory? 🙂

Source: My Mom

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. The first day of school, our parents would wake us up by my mother opening the blinds to let the sunshine in, while my father (who could NOT sing) sang, “Good Morning to you, Good Morning to you! We’re all in our places with big, smiling faces! Good Morning to you! We’d jump out of bed so he’d stop singing!

  2. I love love love enchiladas. I’m still searching for some as good as they made them when I lived in Texas. Maybe I should try out your recipe. School already huh? It’s too soon! Come back summer!

  3. I love enchiladas! I like that you made your own red sauce for these. I have yet to find a bottled enchilada sauce that I like. Perhaps I should also try to make it myself!

  4. Maggie, these look absolutely delicious! Your sauce is amazing!

  5. Your homemade sauce sounds so good, my husband would absolutely love that!

  6. These look amazing Maggie! Chicken enchiladas are always a winner dish. I don’t think anyone can NOT love them! 🙂

  7. Great job, my husband will love these, thanks for the share.

  8. That last photo looks awesome! Love this recipe.
    Also thanks for checking out my cinnamon rolls 🙂

  9. The enchiladas look amazing! I’d love to have one of those right now…or two!

  10. These enchiladas look amazing!! I would have loved to have come home from school and have these waiting for me! 🙂

  11. These look delicious! That sauce looks amazing…I tend to use can. Bad I know. I love the plate in the picture.

  12. Oh Maggie these look good. We love chicken enchiladas and don’t have them often. They are too easy to overeat!

  13. Yummy, I LOVE chicken enchiladas! These look incredible! 🙂

  14. Oooh god do I love an enchilada. These are totally some I could dig on. I would let your mom take a billion embarrassing first day of school pictures for a forkful of one of these.

  15. I was recently on a quest to find an authentic chicken enchilada recipe. I settled on one in the end which was good. Next time though I’m trying this out. It looks great and I love the step-by-step photos!

  1. Pingback: Happy Independence Day « Maggie Cooks

  2. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Recipes « Maggie Cooks

Leave a Reply

