Mexican Wedding Cookies

Happy New Year Everyone! 🙂

I struggled to decide which recipe I was going to share with you today.
It’s the first recipe I’ll share this 2012 so it’s important, I thought I would share a sweet recipe.
For me this type of cookie reminds me of Chihuahua where my Aunt Lucy is from, She’d always make this for parties or just family reunions and of course they are delicious.
I’ve seen that people called them “Mexican wedding cookies”, or “Russian tea cookies”, We call them: Bolitas de Nuez or Besos de Nuez, either way they are really good and I’ve been wanting to make them for a long time.
I’m glad I finally gave them a try.

Ingredients:
1 Stick of butter
1/2 Cup of ground nuts
1 Cup of flour
1 Teaspoon vanilla
3 Tablespoons of sugar
1/2 Teaspoon of baking powder

Icing sugar for rolling.

Preparation:
Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F. Line cookies sheets with parchment paper.

In a food processor ground the nut.


Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar at medium-speed until it is smooth. Beat in the vanilla. At low-speed gradually add the flour and baking powder. Mix in the pecans with a spatula.

With floured hands, take out about 1/2 tablespoon of dough and shape into little balls.

Place onto prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until light brown. When cool enough to handle but still warm, roll in icing sugar.

Note: If you want you can double the recipe since they go by really fast! 🙂

Source: My Aunt Lucy.

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Looks like you have picked the perfect recipe to start 2012.

  2. Y.U.M.! This is one of my favorite cookies! And yours look amazing! 😀

  3. These are SO good!! Do you make hojarascas too? My grandma-in-law taught me to make them when she was alive…

  4. These look so yummy! I love these cookies but have never made them….it’s the perfect way to start the year.

  5. You picked the perfect cookie! I love Mexican Wedding Cookies. Where i come from, we also call them snow-ball melt-aways…they’re delicious! Happy New Year!

  6. oh these look so delicious! My grandmother used to make these!

  7. The recipe looks like shortbread-type cookie, which of course, is delicious (how can it not be with a whole stick of butter?!) I love how organized your cookie sheet is with all those little balls of deliciousness.

  8. I have heard these called Russian Tea Balls too! They look very good and people always say they are super delicious! Great recipe to kick off the new year!

  9. These look beautiful! I’d love to try one of these gems 🙂

  10. These cookies look delicious, what a great way to start the new year! Thanks too for visiting my site and happy new year to you and your family, and to Aunt Lucy!

  11. Beautiful! I remember making these in foods class in highschool, but they didn’t turn out as good as yours ;)! Hope your New Years Weekend was wonderful :)!

  12. Those are one of my all time favorite cookies! I could eat like 20 balls of the dough without even cooking them!

  13. I love these cookies! We call them butterballs in my family!

  14. Melt in your mouth goodness. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

