Celery Bread

Hello! How was everyone’s weekend?

Today is monday and even thought I wasnt a big “Monday” fan I always love to post my recipes on this day It makes Mondays more exciting haha.
I don’t know about you but I’ve actually been thinking of valentine’s day a lot, It’s coming out and im ready to try out some recipes so I can post them on the blog and to give to my friends, I have valentine’s day recipes bookmarked since last valentine when I didn’t even own an oven or this blog.
So im pumped up to bake, bake and well… BAKE! 😀

Today I’m going to share a recipe that we made for christmas, but I think you can make it any other day and enjoyed it as much as we did.
Celery Bread or as we call it here: Pan de Apio.
It’s and old recipe from my grandmother, she used to make it every christmas or new years, My mom found the recipe in one of her recipe books, we made it and she says it tastes just the same!
So I decided to share the recipe!

 

Ingredients:
16 slices of white bread in cubes
5 eggs
2 cups of celery chopped
1 cup of green onions chopped
1 stick of butter (melted and cooled)
2 cups of green apple in cubes
1/2 tablespoon of poultry
2 cups of chicken soup
pepper
salt

Preparation:
Cut the slices of bread into cubes and place them on a bowl

Chop the celery,green onions,apple


add them and also add the 5 eggs,butter,pepper,salt,poultry to the bowl


Mix with your hands and start adding the chicken soup until everything is well combined. (you may not use all the chicken soup)

Place the mixture into a buttered Pyrex

Cover it with foil paper and Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, take it out of the oven and take out the foil paper and bake again without it for 30 more minutes.

Cover it with plastic wrap to keep warm until serving.

Sorry for not taking a better picture of the celery bread, When I wanted to grab a slice to save for the picture there wasnt any! Everyone enjoyed it and ate it all.

Hope you guys enjoy it too! 🙂

Source: My Grandmother.

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Appetizers & Snacks, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looks fantastic! I haven’t had celery this way, but I think I’d adore it 🙂

  2. This looks like the most delicious bread pudding ever!! Bookmarking to make soon.

  3. That sounds surprisingly good! I wasn’t quite sure what to make of the title…

  4. I had to check this out when I saw celery bread, thinking it was a loaf, but this stuffing like concoction sounds delicious! I love the addition of the apple!

Leave a Reply

