Empanadas Dulces

Or Sweet Hand Pies…

This “empanadas” are really delicious, My Aunt Lucy used to make them all the time, and she shared this recipe with my Mom.
It was until a couple of months ago when my mom and myself gave them a try, I was a little nervous about it, because the recipe calls for beer, I was like what? that’s so weird! I personally don’t like the smell of beer, but really havent got the chance to “hate it” cause my dad doesn’t drink.
So my mom and I bought all the ingredients and made them.
The result? Delicious, really soft and the dough tastes really good, I feel that the sugar and cinnamon play a huge part on it. You can have the fillings that you want! We Filled some with Dulce de leche, and most of the dulce de leche came out of it and made a mess! (they were still delicious though) So I would recommend filling them with Jam. We are making them this weekend and filling them with strawberry, and pineapple jam! So we are really excited!

Ingredients:
1 Kilo all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 cup of sugar
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 kilo of shortening
1 12 fl.oz beer we used the heineken brand

For the filling we used: Fig Jam

For the Cinnamon and Sugar:
1 Cup Sugar
1/2 tablespoon Cinnamon (or depending on your likes for cinnamon)

Preparation:
On a bowl add the flour,salt,sugar,baking powder and shortening, cream together and add the beer a little at a time until forming a ball.

Preheat oven to 350°F
Let it rest for about 15-20 minutes covered on film paper.

Now roll some of the dough so you can cut circles and add a little bit of jam, fold in half, press edges together and crimp with a fork. place them on a Pyrex.

Bake the empanadas until golden, 15 to 20 minutes. Roll them in Sugar and Cinnamon

Transfer to a wire rack and let cool, Serve warm or at room temperature.

Source: My Dear Aunt Lucy

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. These look really good. I love empanadas although I have never made them. I will have to give them a try beer and all. 🙂

  2. Yum! That sounds delicious, great recipe.

  3. The Dulce de leche filling sounds amazing!! I would love to try these.

  4. These look really good! I have to say – I don’t like the taste of beer, but I LOVE the smell!

  5. This is a delicious snack!! In Cyprus we have a traditional sweet that has the same shape as this one, but the filling is anari cheese with sugar and cinamon. I will give your recipe a try soon. I am sure my family will be thrilled!

  6. These are a great alternative to fried and your pastry looks fantastic with that cinnamon sugar. Yum-bookmarked.

  7. Hi Maggie, these look delicious! I’m now following you on Twitter. Come say hello 😉 Kate

  8. The beer is such an unusual touch. These turned out beautifully.

  9. These look deliciosas!!! You have great recipes, Maggie. I am glad to meet you through Cheff Dennis 🙂

Leave a comment