Cupcake Pull-Apart Cake

As you may remember I posted a few weeks ago that I went to a class of “Cupcake Pull-Apart Cake” It’s basically just cupcakes with buttercream frosting but the cool thing is to learn how to draw in the cakes.
So I learned and I was so excited I came home with my Hello Kitty Pull-Apart Cake, in the afternoon my cousin came to the house and saw it, she fell in love with the whole concept and told me to make a cake for his son’s first birthday party, I of course said YES! immediately, I sent her some pictures of a few kids characters and she decided that she wanted Mickey Mouse, I bought all the things I needed and I was ready, as the days went by I felt so nervous I mean what if it didn’t come out as planned? It was going to be the first cake I sell, What if they don’t like it? I decided to organize myself so I baked all the cupcakes in the morning, and by the night they were all cooled down and ready for me to decorate them, My mom was looking at me in every move I did, she helped me a lot, but if that wasn’t stressful enough my dad came and he didn’t leave the room until I finished it, It was kind of funny to see my dad that interested about this cake I was making haha, finally at 11:30 P.M I finished the cake.

And it looked like this:

(Sorry for the darkness of the picture I took it with my sister’s phone)

I think it turned out better than I ever thought it would, My Aunt came for it this morning and she was so impressed by it, she took it to my Cousin’s house and she called me to tell me that she loved it!
So I’m really excited about this kind of cakes, I think it’s amazing for kids they get impressed really fast so hopefully all kids love the cake!

What do you guys think? Would you ever make one of this? Maybe I’ll post a tutorial for it, would you guys be interested?

Happy Friday!!!! 😀
-Maggie

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Super cute cupcake cake!!! I have a hard time making detailed cakes with the 2 kiddies at home lol. But I would still love to see how it’s done. I’ve been planning away for the littles birthday cake coming in June but I usually end up frosting cakes until like 2 am. As I start really late once the kids are in bed. 🙂

  2. All I can say is wow! That looks so perfect and professional. I’m sure kids would love it. I wish I had the patience for that kind of detail work but with no kids, it’s just as well. Keep making those gorgeous cakes.

  3. This cake is so divine – it looks like it came from a professional cake shop 🙂
    Beautiful, beautiful and I bet delicious!
    Well done 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. I’m impressed, too. This required planning and it looks as good as what I’ve seen in the stores where I’ve seen the same sort of “cake.”

  5. WOW!!! I’ve never seen anything like this before! It’s very impressive you are just starting to do these – It looks professional indeed. I would love to see how you did it!

  6. You did an excellent job on this, Maggie!! So cute!

  7. This looks so professional. I love it. Very cute Mickey Mouse face – perfect for any child or adult young at heart.

  8. Coolest idea ever! 🙂 Genius.

  9. Maggie, The cupcake cake is great! There is another method if you want to experiement. If you use whipped frosting very light and fluffy you spread it all over after you’ve tinted it a color and then pipe details or writing. Have fun and enjoy! I have some pictures I can email to you this type of cake ( I used to be a baker).

  10. Yes please on the tutorial! This looks fantastic, and I have a friend who wants a cake like this for her son’s birthday, but I’ve never done a cupcake pull-apart. So yay for any tutorials 😉

  11. SO CUTE!! I would love for you to post how you made this… I’m looking to make something like this for my little mans 1st birthday!

  12. This is adorable… I would love to see how you did this

Leave a comment