Poblano Strips

Or as we call it here Rajas Poblanas!

(Picture updated: 19/09/11)

I am still a little sore about the tooth extractions, but I decided to take a break from the ice in my mouth to post this recipe for the weekend for you to enjoy!

This dish is very versatile.
You can have it as a Main dish with some warm corn tortillas.
-If you want to see how to make your own corn tortillas Visit Scarletta Bakes She has beautiful pictures too! :D-
Or you can have it as a Snack serving them with “Totopos” or Chips and believe me they’ll be a hit!
Everyone will think you spent hours in the kitchen making them, but really it’s not going to take you more than one hour. 🙂

Ingredients:
7-8 Poblano peppers (you can alternate this, but not less than 5)
1 onion thickly sliced
1 cup drained canned corn seeds
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/2  tablespoon of pepper
1/2 tablespoon chicken soup powder (granules)
2 (250 ml) Mexican media crema

Preparation:
You have to roast the poblano peppers, place the peppers on a large griddle over medium-high heat.
Roast until the skin turns black.
Remove peppers from griddle and place in a Ziploc bag, allowing them to sweat for 5 minutes.
Transfer to a plate to cool.
Peel and discard the outer skin of the peppers, halve length-wise and remove the seeds and veins. Slice into thick strips. Set aside.

Now you have to cut the onion, heat a saucepan over medium-high heat and add the vegetable oil with the onion.

add Pepper

Then Open the can of corn seeds and add them with the tablespoon of chicken soup powder, Give it a little mix


Add the poblano peppers

Add the Media Crema

And Bring to boil

There you go 🙂 Rajas poblanas are ready to be eaten!

If you want to know How to Roast a pepper enter here.

I hope you guys enjoy it as much as we do here! 😀
Happy Friday and Happy weekend!

Source: My Mom

About Maggie Cooks

I'm a 16 now 19 year old girl, who loves to cook ... mostly bake, check my blog and don't forget to leave a comment. Thank you :)

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Appetizers & Snacks, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. cookinghealthyforme

    Wow, that looks great! I love roasted peppers! I hope your mouth is feeling better!

  2. Maggie, this is such a great post!

    I can’t wait to try your rajas poblanas – it looks so delicious – I love that you include corn.

    Your photographs are lovely and I’m so glad that your dental surgery went well!

  3. Interesting recipe! I don’t think I’ve ever cooked with poblano peppers or Mexican crema. I love the step-by-step pictures too. I’d like to try making my own tortillas. Have you made your own before?.

    • Hello! Thank you for stoping by 🙂
      I’ve seen my Grandma and Aunts make this corn tortillas,
      but “flour tortillas” are the ones that i’ve made with my mom 🙂
      I’ll post a recipe soon for them!

  4. Wow Maggie, you are a great cook and blogger. So happy for you and thanks for this recipe

Leave a comment